I’m a normal person. I see free stuff, I want free stuff.


But if I don’t see the free stuff anywhere I’d like to be able to find it.

So this week I wanted to build a service that gathers information about the free tiers of online services.

But since everything that I want to do already exists, I did what any sensible person would: Google it.

And of course it exists! After a while I found what I consider to be the “holy grail” of free stuff: github.com/ripienaar/free-for-dev/

At least if you are into infrastructure.

This is a list of software (SaaS, PaaS, IaaS, etc.) and other offerings that have free tiers for developers. The scope of this particular list is limited to things infrastructure developers (System Administrator, DevOps Practitioners, etc.) are likely to find useful.

Free infrastructure. You can build pretty much any website prototype that you’d ever want, and even with some ingenuity and free time you could combine services to get as much juice from them as possible.

So go and play with your new toys, please.